Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center Graduates 326th Basic Training Class

326 class in front of flag pole

Photos by Jeff Tuttle

Twenty-seven new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on June 7, 2024, in a ceremony held in KLETC’s Integrity Auditorium.  KLETC Police Instructor Senior James Buettgenbach was the class coordinator for the graduating class, and the commencement speaker for the ceremony was Hugoton Police Chief Courtney Leslie.

Class President May, Vice Provost Beck, Chief Leslie
Class President May, Vice Provost Beck, Chief Leslie

In what she referred to as a celebration of dedication, perseverance, and achievement, Chief Leslie was honored to stand before the graduates of the 326th Basic Training Class.   Chief Leslie recognized that the completion of basic training is not an easy feat, and that the graduates faced challenges head on, were pushed beyond their limits, and emerged victorious. “It could be argued that we are coming out of one of the most challenging periods in our profession’s history,” said Leslie, a graduate of KLETC’s 177th Basic Training Class.  “As we move forward it’s crucial to acknowledge the gravity of these challenges while remaining committed to upholding the principles of justice, accountability and community trust; it’s an opportunity for law enforcement agencies to engage in constructive dialogue with communities, embrace transparency, implement necessary reforms, and rebuild fractured relationships.”

Under the authority of Vice Provost and Director of Police Training Darin Beck, graduates received certificates attesting to the satisfactory completion of a full-time basic course of instruction, and certification as Kansas law enforcement officers from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority.

The following are the graduates of the 326th basic training class:

*Award recipient

Abigail Adams - Franklin County Sheriff's Office

Bradyn Blackhart - Thomas County Sheriff's Office

Elizabeth Bruce - Overland Park Police Department

Jacob Burrell - Osage County Sheriff's Office

Melissa Campos-Ruvalcaba - Seward County Sheriff's Office

Daniel Cano-Torres - Hugoton Police Department

Isaiah Clubb - Buhler Police Department

Erin Ford - Seward County Sheriff's Office

Jonathan Garcia - Dodge City Police Department

Brook Harper - Douglas County Sheriff's Office
* Director’s Award for Academic Excellence

Samuel Harroald - Cheney Police Department

Camren Honn - Coffey County Sheriff's Office

Brian Huntley - Harvey County Sheriff's Office

Kalib Johnston - Galena Police Department

Reanna Lucas - Leavenworth Police Department

Mitchell May - Anderson County Sheriff's Office
*Class President, Fitness

Brayden McVey - Neosho County Sheriff's Office

Trenton Moore - Osage County Sheriff's Office

Stormy Musgrove - Independence Police Department

Garrett Roberts - Overland Park Police Department

Clay Robinson - Hays Police Department

Sydney Schneider - Merriam Police Department

Gabriel Segui McClanahan - Douglas County Sheriff's Office

Coleman Shumate - Miami County Sheriff's Office

George Tello - Liberal Police Department

Johnny Tynes - Fredonia Police Department

Gary Young - Merriam Police Department

Pledge of allegiance