Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center Graduates 325th Basic Training Class

325th Basic Training Class

Phot Credit: Jeff Tuttle

Nineteen new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on May 17, 2024, in a ceremony held in KLETC’s Integrity Auditorium.  KLETC Police Instructor Senior Rob McClarty was the class coordinator for the graduating class, and the commencement speaker for the ceremony was Kansas Supreme Court Chief Justice Marla Luckert.

"Chief Justice Luckert, Class President Dallas Merritt, Vice Provost Beck"
Chief Justice Luckert, Class Pres. Dallas Merritt, Vice Provost Beck

Chief Justice Luckert was proud to be one of the first to congratulate the newest members of the profession and to welcome the graduates to the justice system.  “Although our titles and our roles vary, we share goals of protecting the rule of law, for seeking justice, enforcing the laws that protect our communities, and upholding the constitutions of the United States and the state of Kansas.” 

“I have a deep respect beyond your commitment to our shared goals,” said Luckert, who has served as Chief Justice since 2019.  “That respect comes to all of those in your profession, and that respect emanates from my experience not only as a judge but as a citizen, and for my gratitude for what you do for my community, my state, and my country as you provide protection and your service to all of us.”

Under the authority of Vice Provost and Director of Police Training Darin Beck, graduates received certificates attesting to the satisfactory completion of a full-time basic course of instruction, and certification as Kansas law enforcement officers from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority.

The following are the graduates of the 325th basic training class:

*Award recipient

Brandon Baker - Rooks County Sheriff's Office

Dustin   Barnes - Ellis County Sheriff's Office
*Director’s Award for Academic Excellence

Kanecia Brown - Coffeyville Police Department

Austin Coffelt - Hiawatha Police Department

Caleb Critchfield - Hutchinson Police Department

Gentry  Dougherty - Neosho County Sheriff's Office

Drake Hall - McPherson County Sheriff's Office

Sierra Hampton - Columbus Police Department

Issac Hurst - Bourbon County Sheriff's Office

Jason Jarrett - Newton Police Department

Oliver Krehbiel - Newton Police Department

Armand Little - Valley Center Police Department

Corey Meitl - Pawnee County Sheriff's Office

Dallas Merritt - Allen County Sheriff's Office
*Class President

Donavon Milliken - Anderson County Sheriff's Office

Patrick  Piper - St. John Police Department

Anthony Schmitt - Hutchinson Police Department

Jade Shephard - University of Kansas Police Department

Michael Torres - Dodge City Police Department