Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center Graduates 322nd Basic Training Class

Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center 322nd Basic Training Class Photo by Flag Pole

Twenty-two new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on March 15, 2024, in a ceremony held in KLETC's Integrity Auditorium. KLETC Police Instructor Senior Steve McCorkill was the class coordinator for the graduating class, and the commencement speaker for the ceremony was University of Kansas Interim Chief Information Officer and Chief Information Security Officer Ed Hudson.

"KLETC Deputy Director Ron Gould, Class President Kody Marvin, Commencement Speaker Ed Hudson"
KLETC Deputy Director Ron Gould, Class President Kody Marvin, Commencement Speaker Ed Hudson

A former law enforcement officer, Ed Hudson’s hope for his commencement address was to provide some insight to guide the graduates forward in their careers.  “Our fundamental duty is to serve our community, and communities change.  Laws change, training changes.  Our approach to public safety has changed, our practice has evolved,” said Hudson, when comparing the law enforcement of 34 years ago when he was a basic training student versus the law enforcement of today.  “What has not changed, however, is our responsibility to protect the innocent and oppressed, and to safeguard the peace while protecting the constitutional rights of all.”     

Under the authority of Vice Provost and Director of Police Training Darin Beck, graduates received certificates attesting to the satisfactory completion of a full-time basic course of instruction, and certification as Kansas law enforcement officers from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority.

The following are the graduates of the 322nd basic training class:

*Award recipient

Tia Blount - Leawood Police Department

Bradley Couch - Franklin County Sheriff's Office

Cayden Deetz - Hutchinson Police Department

Julian Deichler - University of Kansas Med Center Police Dept

Kamaris Dickson - El Dorado Police Department

James Green - Atchison Police Department

Emily Hamm - Osage County Sheriff's Office

Eliza Hemmer - Kansas Bureau of Investigation

Alexander LeDesma - Bonner Springs Police Department

Alexander Lenser - Hays Police Department

Isaac Lynch - Shawnee County Sheriff's Office

Kody Marvin - El Dorado Police Department 
*Class President

Conner McGehee - Shawnee County Sheriff's Office
*Director’s Award for Academic Excellence, Honors, Fitness

Shane Mowery - Junction City Police Department

Hunter Pankey - Anderson County Sheriff's Office

McKenzie Robertson - Winfield Police Department

Hayden Schwartz - Hutchinson Police Department

Lauryn Showers - Dodge City Police Department

Trey Siemens - South Hutchinson Police Department

Sheryl Sullivan - Butler County Sheriff's Office

Jonathan Turner - Woodson County Sheriff's Office

Malik Wedlow - Atchison Police Department