Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center Graduates 320th Basic Training Class

KLETC 320h Basic Training Class outside

Photos by Jeff Tuttle

Twenty-one new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on February 2, 2024, in a ceremony held in KLETC's Integrity Auditorium. KLETC Police Instructor Senior James Buettgenbach was the class coordinator for the graduating class, and the commencement speaker for the ceremony was Kansas Bureau of Investigation Director Tony Mattivi.

"KBI Director Tony Mattivi and Class President Richard Millirons"
KBI Director Tony Mattivi & Class President Richard Millirons

Director Mattivi was thankful for the honor to attend graduation to address friends and family members of the graduates, and to celebrate the courage and success of the graduates.  “It is a tremendous privilege for me to be here today,” said Mattivi.  “While you chose this career path, none of us chose to be a law enforcement officer for the compensation.  Instead, we chose this profession for the same distinct reason.  To help, to defend, as an act of service to others.”

Under the authority of Vice Provost and Director of Police Training Darin Beck, graduates received certificates attesting to the satisfactory completion of a full-time basic course of instruction, and certification as Kansas law enforcement officers from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority.

The following are the graduates of the 320th basic training class:

*Award recipient

Tyler Allen - Oberlin Police Department

John Birkenes - Chautauqua County Sheriff's Office

Joseph Butcher - El Dorado Police Department

Kaleb Geer - Lansing Police Department

Daniel  Grotewohl - University of Kansas Police Department

Maurice Harris - Leavenworth Police Department

Austin  Hughes - Ford County Sheriff's Office

Trevor  Mateleska - El Dorado Police Department

Scott Messino - Bucklin Police Department

Chance Miller - Douglas County Sheriff's Office

Richard Millirons - Greeley County Sheriff's Office
*Class President, Fitness

Chad Niver - Montgomery County Sheriff's Office

Angie Ojeda - Ford County Sheriff's Office

Jacob Rein - Stafford County Sheriff's Office

Anthony Savastino - Johnson County Sheriff's Office

Payton Schaefer - Douglas County Sheriff's Office

Nicholas Schwein - Stafford County Sheriff's Office

Casey Springer - University of Kansas Police Department

Bobby Walker - Junction City Police Department

Tyller White - Parsons Police Department
*Honors, Fitness

Riley Young - Leavenworth Police Department

"320th Basic Training mom taking picture"