Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center Graduates 312th Basic Training Class

Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center 312th Basic Training Class Photo

Photos by Jeff Tuttle

Nineteen new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on July 28, 2023 in a ceremony held in KLETC's Integrity Auditorium. KLETC Police Instructor Senior Bryan Carey was the class coordinator for the graduating class, and the commencement speaker for the ceremony was Kansas State Representative Barb Wasinger.

Rep. Barb Wasinger, Class President Deputy Tyler Jost, KLETC Executive Director Darin Beck

Representative Wasinger discussed the importance of character, and challenged the graduates to think about who they want to be.  She encouraged the graduates to be known for their character, not by their profession.  “Think about what’s inside,” said Wasinger.  “At some point in time you will retire from the police departments, but your family needs to know who you are.  Your friends need to know who you are.  And you most of all need to know who you are inside so that you can be the best person that you can be.” 

Under the authority of Executive Director Darin Beck, graduates received certificates attesting to the satisfactory completion of a full-time basic course of instruction, and certification as Kansas law enforcement officers from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority.

The following are the graduates of the 312th basic training class:

*Award recipient

Katie Carnes - Overland Park Police Department

Amy Coon - Wyandotte County Sheriff's Office

Rose Cruz - Geary County Sheriff's Office

Scott Hollingsworth - Clearwater Police Department

Ashley Johnson - Augusta Department of Public Safety

Michael Jones - Independence Police Department

Tyler Jost - Atchison County Sheriff's Office
*Class President

Brad Lightfoot - Hodgeman County Sheriff's Office

Grady Miller - Hiawatha Police Department

Nathaniel Moore - Augusta Department of Public Safety

Paige Nigus - Hiawatha Police Department

Ronald Platz - Wabaunsee County Sheriff's Office

Machenzie Robinson - Galena Police Department

Michael Romero - WaKeeney Police Department

Austin Smith - Washburn University Police

Dayton Smith - Augusta Department of Public Safety

Khaelan Tapp - Osage City Police Department

Jace Tweedy - Finney County Sheriff's Office

Miguel Vasquez - Geary County Sheriff's Office