Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center Graduates 308th Basic Training Class

KLETC 308th Basic Training Class on stage at graduation

Photos by: Jeff Tuttle

Twenty-two new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on April 28, 2023 in a ceremony held in KLETC's Integrity Auditorium. KLETC Police Instructor Senior James Buettgenbach was the class coordinator for the graduating class, and the commencement speaker for the ceremony was Butler County Sheriff Monty Hughey.

KLETC Executive Director Darin Beck and Officer Jerry Perry.

Executive Director Darin Beck presented one of the graduates with a Certificate of Commendation for heroic actions in the performance of his duties on March 30, 2023.  While in class, Officer Jerry Perry with the Oxford Police Department administered the Heimlich maneuver to a fellow classmate who was choking and almost lost consciousness.  “Officer Perry’s quick and decisive action directly contributed to the saving of a life,” said Beck.  “His actions bring credit to his department, KLETC, and the profession.”

Under the authority of Executive Director Beck, graduates received certificates attesting to the satisfactory completion of a full-time basic course of instruction, and certification as Kansas law enforcement officers from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority.

The following are the graduates of the 308th basic training class:

*Award recipient

Andrew Barnhill - Washburn University Police

Colton Carpenter - Chase County Sheriff's Office

Crystal Coletti - Salina Police Department
*Director’s award for academic excellence

Aaron Deimund - Gray County Sheriff's Office

Cade Hawver - Reno County Sheriff's Office

Brenden Hudson - Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks

Jordan Keil - Great Bend Police Department

John Leonard - Salina Police Department

Thurman Lewis - Lansing Police Department

Adam Mata - University of Kansas Med Center Police Dept

Angel Medina - Derby Police Department

Alexis Menadue - Butler County Sheriff's Office

John Moutz - Arma Police Department
*Director’s award for academic excellence

Steven Parker - Butler County Sheriff's Office
*Class President

Jerry Perry - Oxford Police Department
*Certificate of Commendation

Joshua Riggle - Saline County Sheriff's Office

Lonna Savage - Salina Police Department

Charles Stokes - Pleasanton Police Department

Alicia Thompson - University of Kansas Med Center Police Dept

Courtney Thornton - Salina Police Department

Logan Wooters - Great Bend Police Department

Lyn Wright, Jr. - Gray County Sheriff's Office

Crystal Coletti, Salina Police Department, and family.