Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center Graduates 307th Basic Training Class

Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center 307th Basic Training Class Photo

Photos by: Jeff Tuttle

Twenty new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on April 7, 2023 in a ceremony held in KLETC’s Integrity Auditorium.  KLETC Police Instructor Senior Robert McClarty was the class coordinator for the graduating class, and the commencement speaker for the ceremony was Johnson County Sheriff Calvin Hayden.

Johnson County Sheriff Calvin Hayden

Under the authority of Executive Director Darin Beck, graduates received certificates attesting to the satisfactory completion of a full-time basic course of instruction, and certification as Kansas law enforcement officers from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority.

Alvin Sowers, Associate Director for Basic Training, was pleased to present the graduates with their certificates.  “Each class member comes as an individual and leaves as a part of family,” said Sowers.  “It is always satisfying to see our students grow as a person and in their professional careers.” 

The following are the graduates of the 307th basic training class:

*Award recipient

Joshua Bussmann - Pottawatomie County Sheriff's Office

Charlie Coleman - Dodge City Police Department

John Dare - Salina Police Department

Alan Gonzalez-Carrasco - Salina Police Department

Dakota Hunsaker - Johnson County Sheriff's Office

Jacob Hunt - Kansas City Public Schools Police Department

Andrew Jones - Dodge City Police Department

Manuel Lucero - Jewell County Sheriff's Office

Scott McMurphy - Butler County Sheriff's Office

Robert Meyers - Kansas City Public Schools Police Department

Tre Ponting - Wichita State University Police Department 

Jose Ramirez - Johnson County Sheriff's Office

Pablo Ramirez Rosado - Newton Police Department

Casey Schrag - Lyons Police Department
*Class President

Darren Smith - Kansas City Public Schools Police Department

Ivan Squire - Pleasanton Police Department

Madison Szymanski - Pittsburg Police Department

Ricky Thompson - Parsons Police Department

Christopher Williams - Dodge City Police Department

Travis Zweydoff - Baldwin City Police Department