Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center Graduates 305th Basic Training Class

305 Basic Training Class Graduation

Photos by: Jeff Tuttle

Twenty-two new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on February 24, 2023, in a ceremony held in KLETC’s Integrity Auditorium.

Wyandotte County Sheriff Daniel Soptic was the commencement speaker for the ceremony.  Sheriff Soptic utilized the time to share with the graduates some of the things he has learned throughout his career, to include why it matters how you treat others, the importance of family and friends, and the importance of embracing life outside of law enforcement.  “The life you are about to live is not an easy one, but it is the most noble career one can choose.”

Sheriff Soptic and Class President Michael Holstien

Under the authority of Executive Director Darin Beck, graduates received certificates attesting to the satisfactory completion of a full-time basic course of instruction, and certification as Kansas law enforcement officers from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority.

The following are the graduates of the 305th basic training class:

*Award recipient

Dustin Burdett - Caney Police Department

George Costello - Lawrence Police Department

Nicholas Coultas - Barber County Sheriff's Office

Jarod Flax - Russell County Sheriff's Office

Isaac Forster - Butler Community College Dept of Public Safety

Brayden Garner - Fort Scott Police Department

Deven Harriet - Salina Police Department

*Michael Holstien - Hamilton County Sheriff's Office
Class President

Lorenzo Kelly - Wyandotte County Sheriff's Office

Clayton Mackey - Sumner County Sheriff's Office

Korie Martin Brown - Grandview Plaza Police Department

Theresa Mathies - Morton County Sheriff's Office

Sean McCullough - Parsons Police Department

Edward Mora - Kansas Department of Corrections

Brody Mundell - Miami County Sheriff's Office

Christopher Parrish - Wyandotte County Sheriff's Office

Stephen Reagin - Hutchinson Police Department

Jaime Romero - Haysville Police Department

Thomas Roudebush-Torske - Mulvane Police Department

*McKenna Vande Hey - Kansas Bureau of Investigation 

Kevin Wagner - Marshall County Sheriff's Office

Noah Zimmerman - Butler Community College Dept of Public Safety