Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center Graduates 300th Basic Training Class

Basic Training Class 300 lined up in hallway

Photos by: Jeff Tuttle Photography

Twenty new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on October 21, 2022 in a ceremony held in KLETC’s Integrity Auditorium.

This graduation ceremony marked the 300th class to graduate from KLETC since it was created in 1968.  “Every class is special, but this class is special numerically because it is our 300th basic training class,” said Executive Director Darin Beck.  Beck, who has served as Executive Director since June of 2018, shared a little bit of KLETC history with the graduates.  “In 1968 the legislature created KLETC by statute.  They recognized that there was a need to formalize training in the state, and the first basic training class was held February 26, 1968 to March 15, 1968.”

The commencement speaker for the ceremony, Attorney General Derek Schmidt, said it was special to be back for the 300th, and expressed his appreciation for the graduates.  “Their decision to enter this profession, this line of work – to serve despite the perils, to serve despite the criticism – is admirable.”

Class President Yeager, Attorney General Schmidt and Executive Director Beck

Under the authority of Executive Director Beck, graduates received certificates attesting to the satisfactory completion of a full-time basic course of instruction, and certification as Kansas law enforcement officers from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority.



The following are the graduates of the 300th basic training class:

*Award recipient

*BAKER, ALEXANDERHays Police Department

BALENCIA, DE ANNA JOMcPherson Police Department

BALTHAZOR, MACKENZIEWichita State University Police Department

BLASI, WYATTNewton Police Department

BOWKER, ZACHARYKansas Department of Wildlife and Parks

CAMERON, JERRYOsborne Police Department

COLLINS, CODY – Thomas County Sheriff’s Office

CROUCH, HUNTERAndover Police Department

ENRIQUEZ, ANGELABarton County Sheriff’s Office

GRANT WOODEN, TYRONE – Humboldt Police Department

HALE, SHAUN – Holcomb Police Department

HAMMONS, JOSHUA – Pittsburg Police Department

KITZENBERGER, SCOTT – Haysville Police Department

*LEDEZMA, ALEX – Hamilton County Sheriff’s Office

LUCK, BAILEY – Anthony Police Department

NELSON, JAMES – Wellsville Police Department

RANEY, MARK – Parsons Police Department

*WATKINS, LAYNE – Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks
Director’s award for academic excellence; honors

*WOJTECH, JOHN – Oakley Police Department

*YEAGER, NICHOLAS – Kansas Department of Corrections
Class President; honors

Reno County Sheriff's Office Honor Guard