Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center Graduates 295th Basic Training Class

The 295th recites the Oath.

Twenty-three new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on July 1st at a ceremony held in the KLETC Integrity Auditorium. 

Officer Andrew Lee of the Riley County Police Department was the graduating class president. The speaker for the ceremony was Sheriff Russ Thorton of the Ottawa County Sheriff’s Office. Rob McClarty, KLETC Senior Instructor of Police, was the Class Coordinator for the 295th Basic Training Class.

Officers Julia Raymann and Justin Smithson of the Riley County Police Department were placed on the Director’s Honor Roll for achieving an overall academic average of 94% or higher. Officer Raymann was also the recipient of the Larry Welch Award of Academic Excellence for having the highest overall academic score of 96.35%. Officers Raymann and Smithson, along with Officer Toney Asquith of the Galena Police Department, were inducted into KLETC’s 200 Mile Club. Officer Asquith also received the Fitness Medal for having completed 239.23 miles as a member of the 200 Mile Club. Officer T.J. Powell from the Hutchinson Police Department was recognized during the ceremony for his firearms proficiency as the class’ “Top Shot”.

"KLETC Executive Director Darin Beck poses with the 295th Class President Officer Andrew Lee of the Riley County Police Department "
KLETC Executive Director Darin Beck poses with the 295th Class President Officer Andrew Lee of the Riley County Police Department.

Graduates receive certificates of course completion from KLETC and Kansas law enforcement certification from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority. The training course fulfills the state requirement for law enforcement training. Classroom lectures and hands-on applications help train officers to solve the increasingly complex problems they face in the line of duty.

Established by the Kansas Legislature in 1968, KLETC trains the majority of municipal, county, and state law enforcement officers in Kansas and oversees the training of the remaining officers at seven authorized and certified academy programs operated by local law enforcement agencies and the Kansas Highway Patrol.

About 300 officers enroll annually in KLETC 14-week basic training programs. KLETC offers continuing education and specialized training to over 10,000 Kansas officers each year. KLETC is located one mile west and one mile south of Yoder, near Hutchinson, and is a division of the University of Kansas Lifelong & Professional Education.

The graduates, who began their training in March 2022, represented multiple municipal, county, and state law enforcement agencies from across Kansas. Graduates are listed below by county and agency:

Toney Asquith - Galena Police Department
Garrett Gayoso - Cherokee County Sheriff's Office

Lucas Lyons - Arkansas City Police Department

Teddy Laubengayer - Pittsburg Police Department

Tate Bartlett - Hays Police Department

Riley Muniz - Finney County Sheriff’s Office

Cody Bartel - Kingman Police Department

Devin Wisdom - Parsons Police Department

Lee Addison - Lansing Police Department

Alexander LaFrance - Miami County Sheriff's Office

Garrett Kimminau - Ottawa County Sheriff’s Office

Samuel Sullivan - Larned Police Department

Terry Voight - Pottawatomie County Sheriff's Office

Noah Tatro - Pratt Police Department

Tristen Ryan - South Hutchinson Police Department
Thomas Powell - Hutchinson Police Department

Justin Smithson - Riley County Police Department
Julia Raymann - Riley County Police Department
Andrew Lee - Riley County Police Department

Jai’Schaun Brown - Wichita State University Police Department

Carlos Mora - Seward County Sheriff’s Office

Michael Sanders - St. John Police Department

Tyler Stover - Sumner County Sheriff’s Office

By: Jason Levy