Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center Graduates 291st Basic Training Class

Chief Courtney Prewitt of the Garden City Police Department speaks to KLETC's 291st graduation class

Chief Courtney Prewitt of the Garden City Police Department speaks to KLETC's 291st graduation class

Twenty-four new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on April 8th at a ceremony held in the KLETC Integrity Auditorium. 

Deputy Charles Wheaton of the Edwards County Sheriff’s Office was the graduating class president. The speaker for the ceremony was Chief Courtney Prewitt of the Garden City Police Department. Mike Satterlee, KLETC Senior Instructor of Police, was the Class Coordinator for the 291st Basic Training Class.

Steven Phillips of the Haven Police Department was recognized during the ceremony for his firearms proficiency as the class’ “Top Shot”.

Graduates receive certificates of course completion from KLETC and Kansas law enforcement certification from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority. The training course fulfills the state requirement for law enforcement training. Classroom lectures and hands-on applications help train officers to solve the increasingly complex problems they face in the line of duty.

Established by the Kansas Legislature in 1968, KLETC trains the majority of municipal, county, and state law enforcement officers in Kansas and oversees the training of the remaining officers at seven authorized and certified academy programs operated by local law enforcement agencies and the Kansas Highway Patrol.

About 300 officers enroll annually in KLETC 14-week basic training programs. KLETC offers continuing education and specialized training to over 10,000 Kansas officers each year. KLETC is located one mile west and one mile south of Yoder, near Hutchinson, and is a division of the University of Kansas Lifelong & Professional Education.

The graduates, who began their training in January 2022, represented multiple municipal, county, and state law enforcement agencies from across Kansas. Graduates are listed below by county and agency:

Hayden Seabolt - Anderson County Sheriff’s Office

Evva Holtz - Kickapoo Tribal Police Department

Evan Duckett - Baxter Springs Police Department

Adam Utt - Arkansas City Police Department

Jacob Lovewell - Girard Police Department

Amanda Wilson - Abilene Police Department

Charles Wheaton - Edwards County Sheriff’s Department

Christopher Dame - Garden City Police Department
McKenzie Haar-Becker - Garden City Police Department
Christopher Wilson - Garden City Police Department

Ashton Duck - Grant County Sheriff’s Office

Jayden Banks - Newton Police Department

Trey Davidson - Valley Falls Police Department

Cordell Bass - Chetopa Police Department

Austin Tillery - Marshall County Sheriff’s Office

Joshua Huff - Pawnee County Sheriff’s Office

Jesyka Boots - Hutchinson Police Department
Steven Phillips - Haven Police Department

Bailey White - Scott City Police Department

Cheryl Glider - Derby Police Department

Kannesha Nept - Liberal Police Department

Duncan Kroskey - Goodland Police Department

William White - Wichita County Sheriff’s Office

Domingo Moya - Edwardsville Police Department

By: Jason Levy