Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center Graduates 288th Basic Training Class

The 288th basic training class recites the oath of office.

Twenty new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on February 4th at a ceremony held in KLETC’s Integrity Auditorium. 

Officer Curtis Morse of the Emporia Police Department was the graduating class president. The speaker for the ceremony was Tony Mattivi, retired Assistant United States Attorney and the Antiterrorism and National Security Coordinator for the District of Kansas. Troy Livingston, KLETC Senior Instructor of Police, was the Class Coordinator for the 288th Basic Training Class.

Paul Ornelas of the Humboldt Police Department was awarded the Welch Academic Award for academic excellence. Jacob Smith from the Independence Police Department was recognized during the ceremony for his firearms proficiency as the class’ “Top Shot”.

KLETC Executive Director Darin Beck stands with the 288th class president Officer Curtis Morse
KLETC Executive Director Darin Beck stands with the 288th class president Officer Curtis Morse

Graduates receive certificates of course completion from KLETC and Kansas law enforcement certification from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority. The training course fulfills the state requirement for law enforcement training. Classroom lectures and hands-on applications help train officers to solve the increasingly complex problems they face in the line of duty.

Established by the Kansas Legislature in 1968, KLETC trains the majority of municipal, county, and state law enforcement officers in Kansas and oversees the training of the remaining officers at seven authorized and certified academy programs operated by local law enforcement agencies and the Kansas Highway Patrol.

About 300 officers enroll annually in KLETC 14-week basic training programs. KLETC offers continuing education and specialized training to over 10,000 Kansas officers each year. KLETC is located one mile west and one mile south of Yoder, near Hutchinson, and is a division of the University of Kansas Lifelong & Professional Education.

The graduates, who began their training in October 2021, represented 17 municipal, county and state law enforcement agencies from across Kansas. Graduates are listed below by county and agency:

Paul Ornelas - Humboldt Police Department

Stephen Peltier - Andover Police Department
Khalid Barakeh - Butler County Sheriff’s Office
Jarrett Deen - Butler County Sheriff’s Office

Darin Provo - Coffey County Sheriff’s Office

Zachary Wilson - Cowley County Sheriff’s Office

Nicholas Kosman - Crawford County Sheriff’s Office

Edward Temmel - Decatur County Sheriff’s Office

Eddie Del Real - Dodge City Police Department
Jasiel Anaya - Dodge City Police Department

Cornelia Near - Gray County Sheriff’s Office

Jeorgia Scritchfield - Linn County Sheriff’s Office

Curtis Morse - Emporia Police Department

Jacob Smith - Independence Police Department

Austin Hager - Norton County Sheriff’s Office

Joseph Daniels - Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks
Sean Mason - Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks

Matthew Snider - Saline County Sheriff’s Office

Abigail Worlein - Washburn University Police

Cody Gwinn - Colby Police Department