Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center Graduates 272nd Basic Training Class

Twenty new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center on January 15th.
272nd Graduating Class Oath Taking

By: Jason Levy

Twenty new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on January 15th at a ceremony held in KLETC’s Integrity Auditorium. 

Henry Griffiths of the Phillips County Sheriff’s Office was the graduating class president. The speaker for the ceremony was Chief Chris Enos from Washburn University. James Buettgenbach, KLETC Senior Instructor of Police, was the Class Coordinator for the 272nd Basic Training Class.

Griffiths was also recognized for his firearms proficiency as the class’ “Top Shot”. William Carlile from Derby Police Department walked, ran, or biked more than 200 miles during his time at KLETC and exceeded the other physical requirements of the 200 Mile Club including push-ups, sit-ups, and a timed run. Officer Carlile was honored as a member of the 200 Mile Club and for his efforts, he received the Fitness Award. 

KLETC Exectutive Darin Beck and Class President Henry Griffiths

KLETC Exectutive Darin Beck and Class President Henry Griffiths

Graduates receive certificates of course completion from KLETC and Kansas law enforcement certification from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority. The training course fulfills the state requirement for law enforcement training. Classroom lectures and hands-on applications help train officers to solve the increasingly complex problems they face in the line of duty.

Established by the Kansas Legislature in 1968, KLETC trains the majority of municipal, county and state law enforcement officers in Kansas and oversees the training of the remaining officers at seven authorized and certified academy programs operated by local law enforcement agencies and the Kansas Highway Patrol.

About 300 officers enroll annually in KLETC 14-week basic training programs. KLETC offers continuing education and specialized training to over 10,000 Kansas officers each year. KLETC is located one mile west and one mile south of Yoder, near Hutchinson, and is a division of University of Kansas Lifelong & Professional Education.

The graduates, who began their training in September 2020, represented 17 municipal, county and state law enforcement agencies from across Kansas. Graduates are listed below by county and agency:


  • Tanner Lueckenhoff - Atchison County Sheriff's Office


  • Blake Fisher - Greenwood County Sheriff's Office


  • Chase Stallbaumer - Hamilton County Sheriff's Office


  • Matthew Scalia - Leavenworth County Sheriff's Office


  • Kolton Carbon - Linn County Sheriff's Office


  • Evan Praseuth - Osborne County Sheriff's Office


  • Alexander Jacobs - Pawnee County Sheriff's Department
  • Jarret Knieling - Larned Police Department


  • Henry Griffiths - Phillips County Sheriff's Office


  • Avery Barnes - Derby Police Department
  • William Carlile - Derby Police Department
  • Austin Hart - Valley Center Police Department


  • Abdou Gaye - Washburn University Police
  • Kyle Scott - MTAA Police & Fire Department
  • Diego Soto - MTAA Police & Fire Department
  • Pierce Spead - MTAA Police & Fire Department


  • Edward Pritchard - Sherman County Sheriff's Office


  • Emileigh Biddle - Sumner County Sheriff's Office


  • Malcolm Gillum - Wabaunsee County Sheriff's Office


  • Cory Miiller - University of Kansas Med Center Police Department