Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center Graduates 262nd Basic Training Class

Twenty-one new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center on Feb 14th.
Jennifer Richner, class president of the 262 basic training class, addresses the graduating class.

Twenty-one new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on Feb 14th. Jennifer Richner of the Edwardsville Police Department was the graduating class president and Sheriff Andrew Dedeke from Leavenworth County was the speaker for the ceremony in KLETC’s Integrity Auditorium.


Sheriff Andrew Dedeke stands with the 262 class president Jennifer Richner of the Edwardsville Police Department.

The new officers were members of the 262nd basic training class. The graduates, who began their training in October 2019, represented 14 municipal, county and state law enforcement agencies from across Kansas.


Graduates receive certificates of course completion from KLETC and Kansas law enforcement certification from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority. The training course fulfills the state requirement for law enforcement training. Classroom lectures and hands-on applications help train officers to solve the increasingly complex problems they face in the line of duty.


Established by the Kansas Legislature in 1968, KLETC trains the majority of municipal, county and state law enforcement officers in Kansas and oversees the training of the remaining officers at seven authorized and certified academy programs operated by local law enforcement agencies and the Kansas Highway Patrol.


About 300 officers enroll annually in KLETC 14-week basic training programs. KLETC offers continuing education and specialized training to over 10,000 Kansas officers each year. KLETC is located one mile west and one mile south of Yoder, near Hutchinson, and is a division of University of Kansas Professional & Continuing Education.


Graduates who granted permission to release their names are listed below by county and agency:


Douglas County

  • Michael Kinnard - University of Kansas Police Department


Ellis County

  • Andrew Sheely - Fort Hays State University Police Department


Labette County

  • Shyanna Dunn - Parsons Police Department


Leavenworth County

  • Ronald Fox - Leavenworth Police Department
  • Shawn Hund - Leavenworth Police Department
  • Emily Whitehead - Leavenworth Police Department


Lincoln County

  • James Reagan - Lincoln County Sheriff’s Office


Miami County

  • Catelyn Brady - Paola Police Department
  • Christopher Kierl - Miami County Sheriff’s Office


Montgomery County

  • Taylor Adamson - Coffeyville Police Department


Osborne County

  • Matthew Pasilas - Osborne Police Department


Reno County

  • Ian McIntire - Hutchinson Police Department


Riley County

  • William Bowles - Kansas State University Police Department
  • Ronald Cervera - Kansas State University Police Department


Saline County

  • Jacob Hansel - Salina Police Department


Sedgwick County

  • Shawn Engel - Goddard Police Department
  • Ryan Mincks Goddard Police Department
  • Clayton Anthony Vestering - Haysville Police Department


Wabaunsee County

  • Jessica Cruz-Merida - Wabaunsee County Sheriff’s Office


Wyandotte County

  • Jennifer Richner - Edwardsville Police Department
  • Jason Teddy - University of Kansas Medical Center Police Department